About the Society

The British New Testament Society seeks to promote research of the New Testament and related writings. It sponsors an annual conference, attendance at which is open to those who fall into one of the following categories:

  1. Teach New Testament (or a cognate discipline) at a recognised university, theological college or seminary;
  2. Hold a doctorate in the area of New Testament;
  3. Are currently involved in postgraduate research in New Testament at doctoral or masters level at a recognised university, theological college, or seminary.

Individuals who do not meet any of the above criteria may be given special permission to attend on application to the Secretary and with the approval of the Committee.

If you would like to be added to the British New Testament Society’s mailing list, for email updates about the conference and related events, please go to here and complete the form, including stating how you fulfil the criteria. It should be noted that while you are welcome to be part of the email list and attend the conference if you meet one of the above criteria, full membership (allowing voting at General Meetings) is only open to those who are resident in the UK. 

Membership details can be found in the Society’s constitution.

You can read our privacy policy also.

The BNTS Code of Conduct can be downloaded here.

The Committee of the British New Testament Society:


Helen Bond

President: Professor Helen Bond, University of Edinburgh

Secretary: Dr Michelle Fletcher, King’s College London

Treasurer: Dr Tom de Bruin, Newbold College

James Crossley

Information Officer: Professor James Crossley, St Marys University, Twickenham/CenSAMM

Garrick Allen

Member: Dr Garrick Allen, University of Glasgow

Elizabeth Corsar

Member: Dr Elizabeth Corsar, St Padarn’s Institute

Member: Dr Jamie Davies, Trinity College, Bristol

Member: Dr Sydney Tooth, Oak Hill College

Member: Dr Sydney Tooth, Oak Hill College

Minutes from annual meetings can be found here.